Joe the DoormanThe title doesn’t make any sense, does it?

But I firmly believe it.  So let me explain.

The last funeral director I worked for had a strong belief that one employee had to open the door for EVERY attendee at a funeral or visitation, no matter the location.

I worked for him five years.  I think I opened a door at least 50,000 times during my tenure.

 At first, I wanted to strangle him.  I mean, why would anyone care that I opened the door for them?  Wouldn’t they find me a little strange, holding the door open for everyone (even little children) that needed to pop out for something or was coming to a service?

But after a few weeks of opening doors for people, I started to understand his motive.  He runs a small firm that is built on exceeding expectations and providing personal funeral experiences.  He isn’t the cheapest in town or the biggest.  But to charge the prices he does, he’s got to go “above and beyond.”

But how does opening a door go “above and beyond?” you ask.  Because most people don’t experience this type of service anymore.  Unless you live in a large city, you’ve been opening doors for yourself for years now.

 You experience three distinct emotional stages when a funeral home assigns one of their employees to open the door for you.  First, you are bewildered.  You ask yourself, “Why did he open that door for me?”  Secondly, you feel special.  And third, you feel comfortable with the funeral home and it’s staff.  You’ve been invited in.  Someone has spent their time and energy to open a door for you.

BENEFITS:

An employee will interact with (and hopefully speak to – though it’s not required) EVERY SINGLE PERSON who enters the building
The employee is “stationed” in a highly visible area – easy for attendees to find when they need something
Visitors who need something else won’t wander into the wrong service or viewing
Attendees (also called Future Customers) will have a positive first interaction with your funeral home

 If you’re not doing this, you should start immediately.  It is the cheapest, most effective way to change the way funeral and visitation attendees encounter and assess your firm.

