Carl Chapman, writer of the blog “Confessions of an Executive Restaurant Recruiter,”  identifies an interesting phenomenon that I believe holds true:

Every time you hear a customer complain, be grateful.  You should translate that in your head so that you actually hear them saying :

“You know, I like you and your business so very much that even though I was terribly disappointed by my last encounter I want desperately to continue doing business with you. Will you please make this right so that I can continue being a satisfied customer?”

This is part of a larger article titled “What can broken eyeglasses teach us about customer service?

The next time a customer complains about the way you’ve handled a funeral service or a visitor voices an issue about something like your parking procedure, don’t dismiss them as the rantings of disgruntled people. 

If they didn’t care or hope you’d fix it, they’d just walk away, muttering under their breath about your incompetence and vowing to never darken your doorstep again.

Is that what you really want?  Customers and visitors who walk away knowing that they’ll never even consider using you in the future?

