Four of my five favorite books (read about my favorites right here) made the Readers’ Top 100 list on the Modern Library website. 

Interestingly, none of my favorites made it onto the list compiled by the Board of the Modern Library. 

In fact, some of the books they picked are books that I absolutely loathe.  Others I started and refused to finish. 

It’s not that I’m a book snob, but if the author seems to be confusing and overly wordy on purpose, I’m going to close the book and hate the author, also on purpose.

I’d be willing to bet that your top five books aren’t there either.

So the books I like aren’t appreciated by the “literary elite” who serve on the Board, but four landed on the Readers’ list, with my very favorite landing at the top of the heap?

I can live with that.

You can compare the two lists by clicking here.

