I just received this email:

Dear Sir/Ma.

Hello,
My name is Dr samuel ,I am a doctor.I am mailing you to let you know about a development that took place in my hospital somedays agao it is a very sad one but i am mailing you to find out the price of your casket and the person that died is an american ,So i want to buy an american classic casket for him ,But the most unfortunate thing there is that i have tried to contact his family but t no avail ,I am buying this casket to maket sure that his body goes home safely.Please let me know the price range of your casket’s. You can send me ur repl in my private email sam4general@gmail.com
I will await ur reply soonest.
Dr samuel

These email scams work by getting you to begin a conversation about the subject discussed.  Then, the scammer sends you a check for your services.  The check, however, is for a larger amount than you require.  When you tell the scammer, he/she asks you to either send a refund (which you might do, since you want to keep the sale) or forward a check to their shipping agent to pay final delivery expenses.

The scam here is that the check sent to you is either stolen, fake or drawn on insufficient funds.  By asking you to sell a casket, they create an artificial deadline that doesn’t allow you to check out the full story.

Our advice?  Never, ever, ever respond to faxes or emails that ask you to ship your product out of the country.  Ask yourself a simple question:  Why would anyone from England want me to ship them a casket all the way from the United States and how did they choose me? 

You’ll come to the same conclusion that I did:  not a legitimate customer.

(I also think it’s sad that the “doctor” who sent this email can barely spell, has little respect for basic grammar and can’t compose a simple email.  Reads like the work of third world scammers, which it is.)

PAST POSTS:

I’ll Trade You $10 Million For Your Bank Account Number!  (Nigerian letter Scam)

Same Scam, New Tactic

Can I Sell You Some Copier Toner (Which You Normally Get Free)?

