Someone recently asked me why I’m so passionate about making beautiful cot covers for funeral homes. 

To be fair, this person was unfamiliar with death and didn’t know how ugly normal cot covers can be.

So I offer the following pictures to reaffirm why funeral homes need a more dignified and attractive alternative to the current industry standard.

This ugly red cover is half-folded over the body of a murdered child.  It doesn’t cover to cot at all and is blood-red.  Hardly an appropriate image.

The following photograph shows funeral director (and family friend) Matt Cheche preparing to remove the body of Anthony Emmi from his home in Aurelius, New York.

The story which accompanies the photograph (each attributed to Trevor Kapralos) details the last 18 months of Mr. Emmi’s life.  A stirring tribute to the difficulties a family faces when saying goodbye to a patriarch, the story humanizes Anthony Emmi.  Read the full story by clicking here.

But the zippered pouch used by this funeral director doesn’t add dignity to the removal.  In fact, I think it’s quite unappealing.  I’m sure that the funeral director, Matt Cheche didn’t know about the better covers that are now available as the death occured in 2001.

Of course, you can ask “Who cares about the cover?  No one complains about the look of the cot cover.”

Of course not, because the general public doesn’t know the alternatives.  But when they see something different, they respond.

How do I know?  Because I’ve had families reach out to touch one of our quilted covers.  I’ve seen formerly-reticent hospital workers smile and ask questions about the cover. 

In fact, the toughest morgue attendant I ever dealt with softened when she saw the patriotic cover we used to cover the remains of a veteran.  When she saw it, her face softened and she asked me what funeral home I was with.  I could tell she was making a mental note when I told her.  After that, she was an ally in the hospital.

 Funeral directors who buy the cover call back to reorder and share the stories of hospice nurses who treat them differently and nursing home residents who thank them for bringing beauty to a difficult time.

Consider for a moment:  If your own mother or father were leaving your home on a gurney, would you want them to be covered in grey corduroy or fake blue fur that looks like the Cookie Monster?  Or would you prefer something beautiful like this?

So I keep making beautiful quilted cot covers. Because people like them. And because funeral directors around the country are starting to “get it.”

