Both Candace of In Repose and Carl of Confessions of an Executive Restaurant Recruiter have tagged me with the “Eight Things” meme.

First, let me explain the terminology.  A meme is an idea that travels through the internet (more specifically, the dinghy alley that is the blogosphere), bouncing from one blogger to others until it dies a well-deserved death on some forgotten webpage.

Sounds like I’m a little cynical about memes, doesn’t it? 

But I have good reason.  I don’t care about your ten favorite movies or your six favorite pasta recipes.

I do, however, want to know what you think about the future of funeral service.  And I care deeply about the three best ways you reach out to your community.

So in the interest of not being a jerk and because my two friends (Candace and Carl) asked me, I’ll share a variation of the “Eight Things” meme.

First, I have to post the rules.  So here they are:

1. Post these rules before you give you the facts.
2. List 8 random facts about yourself.
3. At the end of your post, choose (tag) 8 people and list their names (linking to them).
4. Leave them a comment on their blog letting them know they’ve been tagged!

Now, my version – Eight Random Things About Me That Have No Bearing On Anything

1.  I love football.  I mean LOVE.  And not the European, let’s kick a ball around for two hours and end with a tie football.  American football with trap plays and screen passes and pulling guards and free safeties and all the crap that goes with it.

2.  Before I broke down and bought a Nintendo Wii, I never played any video games that weren’t football.  I can seriously kick some butt on Madden 2007 or NCAA Football.

3.  I hate cheerleaders.  Not because they’re skinny twirps (which they are!) but because they distract from the game.  I’ve got spirit aplenty, so get off the field!

4.  I can’t stand music that doesn’t have lyrics or has lyrics that are in another language.  I love Josh Groban’s voice, but I can’t listen to the songs that aren’t in English.  But before you label me as a kook, understand that I listen to music for the story.  If I can’t understand the words, I can’t get the story.

5.  I also hate opera, because, once again, I can’t follow the story.

6.  While I’m at it, ballet sucks.  “Oh, I get it.  He’s a swan.  Who cares?!?”

7.  If I’m transcribing something, I usually type “F” instead of the number “5,” even in the middle of a phone number.  I also can’t type the name “Gerald” without first typing “Gerlad.”  Don’t know why, just a wierd compulsion my fingers have.

8.  I turn my foot to match the pattern when I step on a tile.  I can usually stop if I really try, but it’s difficult.  Worse, the main living spaces in my house are mostly striped tile which was put down with no thought to pattern!  What were those installers thinking?!?

There you have it, my OCD list.

Here are the people I tag:

1.  Robin Richter, Creative Memories Consultant
2.  Deidre Blair of Final Reflections
3.  Carolynn Duncan of The Hundred Dollar Business
4.  Kim Stacey of Kim Stacey Publishing
5.  Marketing Goddess Diana Bourgeois

You’ll notice I’ve only tapped five.  But there are three of you out there who I decided not to subject to this.  Just know that if you’re mean to me, you might get tagged, since I’ve got these three spares sitting around.

