There’s a great article on “The Parish” blog about funerals from a minister’s perspective.

Having sat through a bunch of “preachy” funerals myself, I feel confident that I could fill in for a late minister in a pinch.

 In our area, typical Baptist/Evangelical/Holy Roller funerals go like this:

Prayer
Reading of the Obituary
Hymn
Family Reflections
Sermon
Altar Call, as in “If you’ve never accepted Jesus into your heart, I ‘d like you to pray this prayer with me.  All heads bowed and all eyes closed.  Dear Precious Lord Jesus, I am a sinner, I….”
Minister Makes False Claims of Conversions, as in “If you just prayed that prayer with me, would you raise your hand?  All heads bowed, there’s one.  Thank you, another one.  Thank you, sir.”  And no one’s got a hand up!
End with a prayer that thanks God for souls saved today

First, let me explain that while I don’t want a funeral like this for myself, I understand why others might desire it.  But I’ve seen it so many times that I know I could faithfully (pun intended!) recreate it.

And don’t get me started on Catholic Mass of Christian Burial.

Special thanks to Don and Jim from LifeStory Network for the link!

