This is part of a larger series of articles about creating a free website for your funeral home. 

The first article was published Friday, titled Cheap (sometimes FREE) Company Websites.

In the next few paragraphs, I’ll describe the issues to consider when choosing a presentation style and I’ll tell you what a blogroll is and how to use it.

 All blog hosting companies offer you several free presentation styles (also called a template or theme) that will help make your blog or website unique.  I use the WordPress template called “Connections” for Final Embrace.  For Treasured Memory Bears, I chose “Ambiru.”

Each template has different features, so try out a few of them before you decide.  When designing Final Embrace, I wanted to have a site that was easy to ready, but that had links of the side for easy reference.  This meant a two-column layout with the blogroll and other information on the right side.

Since Treasured Memory Bears is designed to look like a typical website, I chose a theme that had one column in the middle and the page links on the top.  The “Ambiru” theme also features a customizable header, which allows me to insert a different picture in the top portion of the site.

Once you’ve chosen a theme, you might want to fill a blogroll.

I hear you – “What’s a blogroll?”

Look to the right column, and below the section called “categories.”  See all the names of companies and other blogs?  That’s my blogroll.  It allows me to gather, in one place, all the people or companies that my readers might need to search out.

When I read a new blog that I find exciting or interesting, I check out the blogroll.  It lets me figure out who the writer knows and I often find a new favorite writer or resource.

For a traditional website, the blogroll can act as a quick link section.  Imagine gathering the links for Social Security or your recommended estate planner or for the VA in one place for your clients?

Blogroll names are added in the administrative sections of your blog provider’s website.  Adding a link is as easy as listing a display name (what you want the reader to see) and the url (that http:// thingy that comes up in the address bar for a website) for the page you want to feature.

Tomorrow, I’ll describe the pleasure and pain of comment management!

