In response to my last post, Be Agressive. B. E. Aggressive!, Jose asks “why fix something that ain’t broken?”

Because certain parts of the company ARE broken.  Heck, certain parts of my own business thinking are broken.

We’re at the point in our company’s life when we either remain satisfied with where we are, making a tidy profit, content with ever-slowing growth.

Or we “kick it up a notch” and move our company forward.

With our current equipment, facilities and staffing, we’re approaching maximum production capacity.

Which means that no matter how many new customers we find or covers we sell, there are only so many we can make.

To move our company forward, we’re going to have to reinvest some of that tidy profit to make ourselves even more profitable.

Here’s another question about the same post, from Lenette of The Urn Garden:

Tim, do you still work a full time job in a addition to the quilt biz?

Yes, Lenette, I do.  But that has been the least of our worries, since I’ve relinquished much of the day to day production responsibilities and focused on the “brainy” side of things.    In fact, going back to a full-time job has helped focus me on my business tasks (I used to get so bored that 2-hours worth of brainstorming would fill an entire workday) and made our company more successful.

Actually, our business really took off only AFTER I went back to a full-time job.  I think that’s because I was forced to jettison the frilly stuff that didn’t contribute to our success and laser in on the stuff that made things really work.

I think it’s time for another big stroke/grand gesture to take us up another level.

Need a concrete reason?  At the last NFDA Convention we were stuck in the back and saw less than 1/3rd of the attendees.  And we still sold 42 cot covers and were barely able to get them all out of our facility in the two weeks following the convention.

Unless we improve our capacity, there’s no way we’ll be able to meet the demand from the Kentucky FDA Convention, the IFDF Convention and a better booth location at the NFDA Convention in Orlando. 

