Photo courtesy of Flickr user p
luckytree

I needed a wheelbarrow for a recent home improvement project (no, I’m not digging a storm cellar or a fall-out shelter) and I decided to try the discount store first.

I found a nice wheelbarrow for less than $40.  It was not pre-assembled, but really, how hard is it to assemble a wheelbarrow?

I picked up the barrow (I guess that’s what they call the actual scoop-shaped container), the two arms and a box containing the wheel, brackets and other parts.

The wheelbarrow was easy to assemble but I hadn’t counted on having to pump up the tire myself.

Here’s my quandry:  did the tire ship fully inflated, but lose air because of a leak, which would make the product faulty and eligible for return?  Or, do they ship the tires uninflated, to save shipping costs and weight, and simply neglected to tell me that I’d have to fill it up before I got home?

If there was some kind of written explanation on the outside of the box, like “tire ships un-inflated”, I would have known to stop on the way home, saving myself a trip to the local inflation station (otherwise known as the air/vacuum kiosk outside the nearest 7-11) and mitigating a whole lotta frustation and wasted hours when I could have been using my wheelbarrow to move stuff around my yard.

But then again, cheap products aren’t always well-designed or -thought out.

It’s one of the reasons that I constantly listen to our customers and ask new customers about their reaction to our quilted cot covers.  “Is the pocket easy to use?”  or “Are the care instructions written clearly enough?”

Hopefully, we keep making our products better and simplifying our explanations of how they work.

That way, we sell more of them (people like to buy what they can understand) and our customers like them better.

