Michelle Carter, one of our frequent guest writers, asked me:

Who is your market for this book? Are you looking to catch the readers who are into your blog and give them a bit more bang than they’re already getting?

Or do you want to grab the technophobes and the ones who are stuck in the dark ages so you can convert them?

Truthfully, Michelle, I haven’t really “aimed” yet.

The book will be offered to my blog readers, but since a lot of the book has been discussed here, with some entire posts being copied from the blog, I think the main focus of the marketing should be non-readers.

I’ll be attending several conventions and conferences in the coming months, and I hope this book can be a “calling-card” of sorts.  (I wouldn’t even be focusing on the book right now if not for the organizers of one of my upcoming speaking gigs asking me if my book was finished yet.)

So I’m struggling with whether to make the title kinda generic, so as not to offend anyone, or if I should let go for shock and bet on that drawing attention from the press and those who pick it up to consider reading it.

My “typical” customer?  A funeral director, not necessarily a reader of our blog, who knows that something is changing in the funeral industry and wants to read a bit about it.  Maybe he/she is looking for some ideas to get started or needs advice on dealing with changes in the industry.

My typical customer doesn’t necessarily own his own firm, but he has some control over the operations.  Or maybe she works for the boss and helps make the important decisions.

She’s got to be relatively young (read:  less than 80 years old) because many of the things I talk about and ideas I discuss (both on the blog and in the book) represent a change from the past.

That’s why my favorite title, so far, is “How to Fix the Modern Funeral” and other Essays for the Funeral Industry while the runner-up is Tradition vs. Technology:  Essays on the 21st Century Funeral Industry.

With those guidelines in place, anyone else got a title idea?

