While I was away, several news stories crossed my desk that intrigued me.

THE WEDDING

A Michigan couple got married at a funeral home.  The groom, who is a funeral director, says “I look at it as, if you go to a church and get married, how many caskets do you think have been rolled down that aisle?”

Read the story here.

THE WILL

Want to read a truly bizarre will?  Check out the New York Post story titled, “Slain Couple’s Weird Will”, which describes the last of a string of unsigned wills drafted by Brooklynites Mark Schwartz and Christina-Maria Petrowski-Schwartz, who were murdered in July.

In one scathing section (the sanest, as far as I can tell), Christina-Maria leaves here ex-husband no cash, but direction that a $10,000 gift in his name be made to a battered women’s shelter.

Mr. Schwartz wasn’t much nicer to his estranged brother, stating “to my brother who I know hopes to be in my will, well, here you are,” as he left him nothing.

Read that full story here.

THE STOLEN URN

And on a sad note, Nancy Kempa of Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, is dealing with the theft of her fiance’s urn and remains.

During the memorial service for her deceased fiance, friends of the young man snatched the urn and ran off with it.  Police are looking into filing theft charges.

Ms. Kempa, who had received permission from the next of kin to bury the remains in the same cemetery as the deceased’s father, was, obviously, distraught about the theft.

Read the full story here.  It’s kinda skimpy, so I’d love to know what ended up happening here.  Anyone know?  Send me an email.

