I just got back from presenting at the 2008 OGR Conference, titled “Connecting the Dots.”

Held in Key West, the conference was attended by 50-60 OGR member funeral directors.  They were an attentive group that responded well to my talk, “Tried and True Marketing and Merchandising Techniques.”

I’ve crossed out “Marketing and” because after naming the talk, I decided to focus less on marketing (getting people in the door) and more on merchandising (selling them stuff once they choose your firm).

During the presentation, I promised the attendees that I’d post some stuff here for them to look over.  While the full presentation is coming, here’s some articles that might be useful:

Good, Better, Best

Applying GOOD, BETTER, BEST to Urn Sales

Discount Selling and Full-Service Don’t Mix

We’ve Identified Your Clients

Choosing Your Customers and Convincing Them to Choose You

The Yellow Monster Will Devour Your Ad Budget!

Tim Responds to “A Monumental ‘Undertaking’?” (Could be titled What is Your ‘X’)

Also, expect a longer article about displaying merchandise within the public areas of your funeral home, with special emphasis on some great pictures that my friend, Brian Hanner of Geib Funeral Home, emailed me after my presentation.

